Service Record Application - Prisoner of War

Discussion in 'Searching for Someone & Military Genealogy' started by HollyW, Apr 17, 2024.

1. HollyW

HollyW New Member

Hello,

I am very new to genealogy and especially anything to do with military. My great grandfather was in the army and was taken as a Prisoner of War during WWII. I am trying to find out information as no one in my family knows anything.

I have just sent the application for his service records from the MOD and I have seen I can request information through the Red Cross website when it reopens which I plan to do.

I also can see that there are POW questionnaires held at the National Archives of which he may have completed one - would anyone be able to advise me if information from these questionnaires would be included in the MOD request or Red Cross request? I'm trying to figure out if I also need to plan a trip to London to search for his potential questionnaire or if I've already requested it.

Thank you so much,
    Holly

JimHerriot likes this.
  2. Tony56

Tony56 Member Patron

Welcome. The other source of some information are the army casualty lists & POW details, these can be seen online via findmypast or ancestry. They should provide very brief information especially if he was a POW, typical information may the date he went missing, if wounded and camps he was held at. Whether you can find him may depend on what information you have, a service number is best, just a name may be difficult. If you are getting into genealogy perhaps you have access to one of these sites.

If you are able to share what information you do have - name, number etc - people around here may be able to help.

You are taking the correct first step which is to send off for his official service records, it's all guess work without them. Good luck.

3. Tullybrone

Tullybrone Senior Member

Hi,

The POW questionnaire will not be provided by MOD or TNA as part of a service record request.